Town Holiday Jan. 20. Most municipal offices will be closed in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Chapel Hill Public Library will be open from 1 to 5 p.m. Chapel Hill Transit will operate on a Saturday schedule. Residential trash will not be collected (make-up day Wednesday, Jan. 22). Read More

Council Member Rachel Schaevitz

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


101 Braswell Ct,
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Twitter: @RachelforCH 

Term of Service


Rachel Schaevitz was elected to the Chapel Hill Town Council in 2017. 

Dr. Schaevitz is a Postdoctoral Fellow for the Public Humanities at UNC-Chapel Hill where she plans public outreach events and initiatives that help UNC serve the state of North Carolina through collaboration with regional community colleges, museums, historical societies and nonprofit organizations.

She holds a Ph.D. in media and communication from Temple University, focusing on using media and the humanities as vehicles for social change.  She has a background in independent and studio film production as well as an MFA in Film Studies from Boston University and BFA in film production from New York University. 

At Carolina, Dr. Schaevitz teaches courses on media in the public service, pairing film production students with other departments on campus or groups in the community to create educational videos for use in the K-12 classroom.

Her volunteerism includes serving as a Town of Chapel Hill Cultural Arts commissioner, as chair of the American Legion Task Force, and as a room parent at Frank Porter Graham Bilingue. She lives in the Southbridge neighborhood of Chapel Hill with her husband, two children, and dog.


  • Chapel Hill Cultural Arts Commission
  • Community Design Commission
  • Council Committee on Economic Sustainability
  • Family Success Alliance
  • Intergovernmental Parks Work Group (OC)
  • Mayor’s Committee on Council Communication
  • Orange County Visitor's Bureau Board of Directors


The primary mission of the Mayor and Council, as the governing body of the Town is to adopt and provide for the execution of ordinances, rules and regulations as may be necessary or appropriate to protect health, life or property, or to promote the comfort, convenience, security, good order, better government, or the general welfare of the Town and its citizens.

The Mayor and eight Council Members constitute the governing body of the Town. In accordance with the Town’s Charter, the voters elect a Mayor every two years. Council Members are elected to four-year, staggered terms on an at-large basis. Town Council duties include:

  • Amendment of previously adopted policies through changes in the Town Code of Ordinances and the Development Ordinance, and by revision of policies and documents.
  • Appointment of advisory boards, commissions, task forces and committees.
  • Appointment of the Town Manager and Town Attorney.
  • Establishment of agreements with other governments.
View Full Site