Friday, July 3 is a Town holiday. Chapel Hill Transit will not operate July 4-July 5. Yard waste will not be collected Friday, July 3. The July 4th Community Celebration has been canceled. More Information


No mask distribution on Saturday, July 4.


Get updates on the COVID-19 coronavirus at

Council Vacancy

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Chapel Hill Town Council has announced the vacancy on the Council resulting from the resignation of former Council Member Rachel Schaevitz on February 19.

The Town Charter provides that this vacancy be filled by an appointment by the Town Council for the remainder of the term of office, until December 2021.  Applicants must be residents of Chapel Hill who are registered to vote in Orange County or Durham County, 21 years old by the time they take office, and otherwise qualified for elected office.

To apply, individuals must complete an application form that includes name, residence address, relevant experience and the signature of the applicant.  Applications can be submitted by mail, online, email or in person to the Town Clerk. The deadline for receipt of applications is Friday, March 27, at 5 p.m. The Town Clerk’s office is located on the 2nd floor of Town Hall, 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514.

The Council is expected to discuss the process for evaluating applications at its business meeting scheduled for April 1 at Town Hall.

Applications and information are available at the Visitor’s Check-In Desk (1st floor, Town Hall), online, by phone: 919-968-2743, or by email:


On February 19, 2020, the Town Council set a deadline of March 27, 2020 for applications to be submitted to fill the Council vacancy created by the resignation of Council Member Rachel Schaevitz.

The following persons submitted applications:

  • Kyle Abbot
  • Camille Berry
  • Jill Blackburn
  • Krista Caraway
  • Lawrence Daquioag
  • Laurin Easthom
  • Chinita Howard
  • Susan Hunter
  • Dawna Jones
  • Gary Kahn
  • Nancy Oates
  • Joseph Parrish
  • Mateusz Pucilowski
  • Dimitri Putilin
  • Renuka Soll
  • Mary Stowe

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
View Full Site