Mayor and Council to Take Oaths of Office

Post Date:12/01/2017 8:51 AM
 Council Swearing In

The Town Council will gather for the post-election swearing in of the Mayor and Council Members at an organizational meeting set for 7 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 6, in the Council Chamber of Chapel Hill Town Hall, 405 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

The oaths of office will be administered to Mayor Pam Hemminger (by Chief District Court Judge Joe Buckner), Council Member-Elect Allen Buansi (by NC Senator Valerie Foushee), Council Member-Elect Hongbin Gu (by Superior Court Judge Allen Baddour), Council Member-Elect Rachel Schaevitz (by Mayor Hemminger) and Council Member-Elect Karen Stegman (by District Court Judge Sherri Murrell).

In addition, the Council will consider resolutions of appreciation to Council Member George Cianciolo, Council Member Sally Greene, Council Member Ed Harrison and Council Member Maria Palmer for their service to the community. The business of the meeting also will include the seating of the new Council, election of the mayor pro tempore, and appointment of Council liaisons and representatives. 

As with all Council meetings, the meeting will be available by live streaming video from the Town's website at

A reception following the meeting will take place at Town Hall.

Return to full list >>
View Full Site