Town Manager Selects Town Employees for Highest Honor

Post Date:06/09/2017 4:30 PM
Left to right: Town Manager Roger Stancil; Master Firefighter
Heather Robinson; Chapel Hill Transit Director Brian Litchfield;
Chapel Hill Transit Assistant Operations Manager Joe McMiller;
Fire Chief Matt Sullivan; and Deputy Town Manager Flo Miller.
Click for high-resolution photo.

Town Manager Roger Stancil has selected Joseph McMiller, Assistant Operations Manager at Chapel Hill Transit, and Heather Robinson, Master Firefighter, as the 2017 W. Calvin Horton Service Award winners.

The awards were announced today (Friday, June 9) at an employee awards ceremony as part of the Town’s Employee Appreciation Day held at the UNC-Chapel Hill Friday Center.  The award is one of the highest honors the Town of Chapel Hill bestows upon an employee, who receives an inscribed glass plaque and $1,000 cash award. This year was unusual in that two employees were selected for the honor.

Town Manager Stancil spoke about the Town of Chapel Hill workforce as a “Team of Winners” recognized for providing excellent services by the Town Council and Chapel Hill residents, who rank services highly in the Community Survey. “Our employees receive frequent praise for their professional and friendly service,” Stancil said. “It is employees like these honorees that make the Town of Chapel Hill a great place to work and contributes to an excellent team.”

Former Town Manager Cal Horton stated in a letter to the honorees: “You have served the citizens of Chapel Hill with distinction. Your example is a model that inspires other Town employees to undertake similar good work and good deeds.”

Joseph McMiller, as told by his peers
Joseph McMiller provides exceptional service to his department by demonstrating outstanding leadership. He has represented not only his department on several outside tasks, but also many Town-oriented tasks. He has shown the ability to motivate his team members and truly defines the Town Values.

He has served, or is serving on various committees throughout the Town of Chapel Hill: The Employee Forum, Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee, Compensation Task Force, and Chapel Hill Transit's Employee Forum. He started the Stuff the Bus event in which Chapel Hill Transit buses collect items and gently used clothing for donation to the local IFC. He also organized a Hurricane Matthew Relief Drive (with the help of other transit agencies) to provide relief to the victims in the eastern region of North Carolina. They took a loaded 40-foot bus to the United Way in the Tar River region.

Heather Robinson, as told by her peers
Heather Robinson’s contributions span from her core team (Crew). She is an instrumental team member willing to do whatever it takes to further their goals. This occurs daily, which translates to better work across her shifts.

Robinson was an initial founding member for the Wellness at Work program. She continues to be a member of that committee to progress its goals for the Town. She is respected by her colleagues. If a need arises, she looks to see what she can do for the Town, department, for the fire service. It is never about her as an individual.

She was an integral employee of our "SciWhy" fire science program that was conducted several times to demonstrate the STEM connections within the fire service. She volunteered time in organizing, staffing, reserving rooms, acquiring materials and developing the curriculum.

About the Award
The W. Calvin Horton Service Award was initiated in 2007 when funds were raised by the community through the Foundation for a Sustainable Community Inc., a not-for-profit charitable corporation under the auspices of the Chapel Hill–Carrboro Chamber of Commerce. The community raised the funds to honor the 16 years of service of former Town Manager Cal Horton. It was Horton’s request that the funds raised be used to award Town employees for distinguished service, of at least 10 years. The fund supports the cash stipend associated with the award.

Past award recipients are John French (2016), Amy Harvey (2015), Coco Hall (2014, posthumous winner), Colleen Lanigan (2012), Nate Davis (2011), Maggie Burnett (2010), Jim Huegerich (2009) and Larry Stroud (2008).


Return to full list >>
View Full Site