Get updates on the COVID-19 coronavirus at

Mayor and Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Pam Hemminger


405 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514




Michael Parker

Mayor Pro Tem

601 W. Rosemary St. Unit 311
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Twitter: @michaelparker1



Jessica Anderson

Council Member

101 Eastridge Place
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Twitter: @Jess4Council



Allen Buansi

Council Member

305 Copperline Dr, #V,
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Twitter: @AllenBuansi 



Hongbin Gu

Council Member

113 Parkridge Ave,
Chapel Hill, NC 27517

Twitter: @hongbin4council



Tai Huynh

Council Member

508 Church St.
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Twitter: @thuynh77



Amy Ryan

Council Member

209 Adams Way
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Twitter: @amy4chapelhill





Karen Stegman

Council Member

2525 Buxton Ct,
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Twitter: @Stegman4CH

About the Town Council

The Mayor and eight Town Council Members make policy decisions in accord with procedures and responsibilities set out in State law. The Town Manager carries out policies and directives of the Mayor and Council. View the Town Council Procedures Manual.

The Mayor is elected for two-year terms and Council Members usually are elected to four-year terms. Terms are staggered so that four seats are filled by elections every two years. Town elections for Mayor and Town Council are non-partisan and at large (no wards/districts are designated) and are held in November of odd-numbered years. Orange County Board of Elections 919-245-2350.

The Town Council appoints several boards and commissions as well as various advisory committees and task forces.



The primary mission of the Mayor and Council, as the governing body of the Town, is to adopt and provide for the execution of ordinances, rules and regulations as may be necessary or appropriate to protect health, life or property, or to promote the comfort, convenience, security, good order, better government, or the general welfare of the Town and its citizens.

The Mayor and eight Council Members constitute the governing body of the Town. In accordance with the Town’s Charter, the voters elect a Mayor every two years. Council Members are elected to four-year, staggered terms on an at-large basis. Town Council duties include:

  • Amendment of previously adopted policies through changes in the Town Code of Ordinances and the Development Ordinance, and by revision of policies and documents.
  • Appointment of advisory boards, commissions, task forces and committees.
  • Appointment of the Town Manager and Town Attorney.
  • Establishment of agreements with other governments.


Council Regular Meeting-CANCELED

View other Town Council Agendas, Minutes, Videos
Contact: | 919-968-2743

Public attendance is welcome via the entrance on the ground floor. Parking is available at Town Hall lots and the lot at Stephens Street and Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard. Additional parking is available in several public lots on Rosemary Street. See Town Hall is served by NS route and T route, and GoTriangle Routes of Chapel Hill Transit.

Note: From time to time, the staff may provide an informal opportunity in the 15-30 minute time period prior to the scheduled meeting time for the Council members to ‘stop by’ prior to the meeting to view short demonstrations of current work or products.

Return to full list >>

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
View Full Site