Thanksgiving Holiday: Most municipal offices will be closed Nov. 23-24. Yard waste will not be collected this week. Residential trash collection will not be affected. Chapel Hill Transit will not operate on Thursday and will operate on a Saturday schedule on Friday, Nov. 24. Chapel Hill Public Library will be closed. More Information

Council Member George Cianciolo

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

PHOTO George Cianciolo 7704 Amesbury Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514-9713

Twitter: @GeorgeCianciolo

Term of Service 



Previous to election to the Town Council, George Cianciolo served on a number of Town advisory boards and committees. In addition to co-chairing Chapel Hill 2020, he served on and chaired the Planning Board, the Community Design Commission, the Transportation Board and the Streetscape Master Plan Committee. He also co-chaired the regional Special Transit Advisory Commission that developed the Triangle’s first regional transit plan.

He first came to the Research Triangle area in 1978 with a newly earned PhD in microbiology and Immunology from the University of Miami in Florida. After nine years with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at Duke, he entered the newly-emerging biotechnology industry and assumed increasingly higher level research management positions, first in California and then back in the Triangle where, a few years later, he co-founded a biotechnology company. The experience provided valuable insight into the needs of getting an entrepreneurial enterprise funded, situated and staffed. He values the fostering of an ever-increasing entrepreneurial culture in Chapel Hill. He returned to Duke in 1996 where, on the faculty of the Department of Pathology, his research focus is on discovering new therapeutics for inflammation and cancer and help to train the medical researchers of tomorrow.

He and his wife of 43 years, Cresha, have lived in the Chandlers Green neighborhood of Chapel Hill since 1989 and share their home with two shelter adopted dogs, Chloe and Leyden.  


  • Council Committee on Economic Sustainability
  • Council Committee: Facilities Naming Committee
  • Library Foundation Board
  • Orange County Visitor's Bureau Board of Directors
  • Council Committee: Orange Water and Sewer Authority (Interview Committee)
  • Planning Commission
  • Public Transit Committee
  • Sustainability, Energy, and Environment


The primary mission of the Mayor and Council, as the governing body of the Town is to adopt and provide for the execution of ordinances, rules and regulations as may be necessary or appropriate to protect health, life or property, or to promote the comfort, convenience, security, good order, better government, or the general welfare of the Town and its citizens.

The Mayor and eight Council Members constitute the governing body of the Town. In accordance with the Town’s Charter, the voters elect a Mayor every two years. Council Members are elected to four-year, staggered terms on an at-large basis. Town Council duties include:

  • Amendment of previously adopted policies through changes in the Town Code of Ordinances and the Development Ordinance, and by revision of policies and documents.
  • Appointment of advisory boards, commissions, task forces and committees.
  • Appointment of the Town Manager and Town Attorney.
  • Establishment of agreements with other governments.
View Full Site