Show/Hide

July 4 Holiday: Most municipal offices will be closed Tuesday, July 4. Residential trash will not be collected (Tuesday routes will be collected Wednesday, July 5). Recycling and yard waste collection will not be affected. Chapel Hill Transit will not operate. Chapel Hill Public Library will be closed. More Information

Hours of Operation & Holiday Calendar

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

CHT operates service from 5:00am to 11:56pm, Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 6:30pm on Saturday, and 10:30am to 11:30pm on Sunday. 

Chapel Hill Transit adjusts service levels at various times throughout the year to meet service demands. The general service schedule will operate from August 15, 2016 to August 13, 2017. During the following times schedules are adjusted to better accommodate University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill breaks.

  • December 17, 2016 to January 7, 2017 - Winter Break
  • March 11, 2017 to March 20, 2017 - Spring Break
  • May 13, 2017 to August 13, 2017 - Summer Break

Break Service Schedule

  • The weekday NU does not operate. 
  • The Safe Ride routes do not operate. 
  • The NU and U routes do not operate on Saturdays and Sundays.
  • The A-Limited routes do not operate.
Holiday Schedule

 

On New Years Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day, Chapel Hill Transit will not operate.

On Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Good Friday, the Day after Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Eve, Chapel Hill Transit will operate on Saturday Schedules with no U or NU routes.

Please check individual route for times, look for service notices on our vehicles or call a customer service representative at 919-485-7433 for additional information.

Holiday
Services Operated
Thursday, November 24  No Service 
Friday, November 25  Saturday Service
Friday, December 23
Regular Service (GoTriangle 420 will not operate)
Saturday, December 24
Saturday Service
Sunday, December 25
No Service
Monday, December 26
Saturday Service (GoTriangle 420 will not operate)
Tuesday, December 27
Local Service ONLY*
Wednesday, December 28
Local Service ONLY* (Tar Heel Express will operate for UNC Basketball game)
Thursday, December 29
Local Service ONLY*
Friday, December 30
Saturday Service (GoTriangle 420 will operate)
Saturday, December 31
Saturday Service
Sunday, January 1
No Service
Monday, January 2
No Service (GoTriangle 420 will not operate)

* Local Service = A, CL, CM, CW, D, F, G, HS, J, N, NS, RU, S, T, U & V.  Routes not operating = A-Limited, CCX, CPX, DX, FCX, HU, JFX & NU.

View Full Site